Ghosts in broad daylight
take life from empty laughter
and resonate ’til it swallows me.
It lives in the shadows
in holes I didn’t know were there.
cracks no sunlight could fill.

One day I woke up
to feel a pang of guilt, when
I do not like to go home
Since its face had changed
into one of the monsters
I have tried to run from.

It is a challenge to sway
along to melodies that play
from both ends of the staff,
and make perfect pirouettes
from tunes that become
less like music to the ears.

Leave a Reply

